Posted On

The attached memo from Scott Monatlik, Senior Director of Corporate Financial Services, provides updated information and FAQs regarding California State Assembly Bill 1887. The Bill prohibits state-funded travel to states that have passed a law that (1) authorizes discrimination based on sexual orientation, gender identity and gender expression, or (2) voids or repeals existing state or local protections against such discrimination. On June 23, 2017, the California State Attorney General added four states to the list in which State of California funds cannot be used to pay for or reimburse travel expenses:

  • Alabama
  • Kentucky
  • South Dakota
  • Texas

The previously banned states that remain on the list include:

  • Kansas
  • Mississippi
  • North Carolina
  • Tennessee

Researchers and research administrators should be aware of the following as it relates to sponsored research-funded travel and/or travel to support research:

  • The ban does not affect travel that is paid for or reimbursed using non-state funds.
  • It does, however, prohibit the University from requiring any employee to travel to states on the Attorney General’s list, regardless of funding source.
  • The University has a responsibility to monitor the Attorney General’s list for changes.

Researchers and research administrators are encouraged to review the attached and contact their OCGA Team if they have questions regarding a specific sponsored project.